DCGS has a long tradition of House Competitions. From the 1920s to the 1970s there were four houses at the school - Challoner, Hampden, Milton and Penn - all named after renowned Buckinghamshire residents. The house system was abolished during the 1970s, but reinstated in 2004. Upon entry to the school, students are allocated to one of six houses - Foxell, Holman, Newman, Pearson, Rayner and Thorne - all of which are named after previous headmasters.

A vast range of competitions are keenly contested during the course of the year with the winning house being presented with the House Shield. There are currently over 70 competitions contested annually, ranging from sports, drama and music to orienteering and code-breaking. It encourages participation from all members of each house and also gives significant opportunities for taking on responsibility with approximately 90 boys involved each year as Captains, Deputy Captains, Mentors or Representatives.

Follow your house on Instagram

House representatives


Captains: Ben Nicholls, Ollie Rook and Jonah Alfert

Sixth Form Mentors for Year 7
Jonah Alfert, Will Jones, Oliver Jacobson and Luke Mulholland

Form representatives
Year 7: Arran Dhanda and Henry Ryland
Year 8: Scott Gildersleve and Zach Clark
Year 9: Rex Vidal and Shreyes Verma
Year 10: Karun Biring and Sam Woodroff
Year 11: Theo Weatherall and Yousef Kaler

Staff:  Adams,  Akerman,  Atkinson,  Blake,  Buchanan,  Buckland,  Butler,  Byrne,  Cadman,  Challis,  Clare,  Cross,  Cullen,  Deadman,  Flattery,  Hutchinson,  Laferton,  McAloon,  Peeris,  Priggs,  Redmond,  Smith and  Wojewodka


Captains: Rishi Shah, Theo McGirr and Alex Burn

Sixth Form Mentors for Year 7
Will Collins, Jayant Johal, Esme Brown and Rachel Johnson

Form representatives
Year 7: Ethan McCall and Lucas Hofalvi
Year 8: Maxim Michau and Tom Craddock
Year 9: Luke Harrison and William Mayhew
Year 10: Jack Morgan and Marcus Los
Year 11: Luke Marsden and Ewan Mayhew

Staff:  Adi,  Almada da Silva,  Baker,  Black,  Blake,  Burton,  Bushe,  Cronin,  Fifield,  Gledhill,  Grant,  Green,  Greiff,  Healy,  Holloway,  Lambert,  McShane,  Narcisi,  Parker,  Robertson,  Tansley,  Thompson and  Webb


Captains: Luca Perrin, Zoe Jackson and Jack Warburton

Sixth Form Mentors for Year 7
Ellie Joseph, Theo Staples, Niam Desai and Giulia Toccaceli

Form representatives
Year 7: Christian Grant and George Feinson
Year 8: Yotam Margoninski-Morrag and Hector Jackson
Year 9: Jackson Creed and Teague Eaton
Year 10: Liam Potter and Ethan Reuter
Year 11: Laurence Mott and Josh Tollerfield

Staff:  Abbas,  Atkinson,  Borrell,  Buckridge,  Burnett,  Clayton,  Collins,  Goodall,  Harrington,  Krishnaswamy,  Krusche,  Lunnon,  Malin,  Morgan,  Popely,  Sealy,  Snow,  Spenceley,  Tingey,  Walker,  West,  Whitby and  Whittle


Captains: Tommy Davies, Cameron Smart and Aidan Healy

Sixth Form Mentors for Year 7
Trinabh Achari, Luke Miller, Sathya Thavaraj and Katie Rowe

Form representatives
Year 7: William Parry and Oliver Spicer
Year 8: Ed Bellamy and Robbie Spittal
Year 9: Ed Canney and Luke Corey
Year 10: Aaron Litvin and Sujan Ahilan
Year 11: Dan Cox and Angus Williams

Staff:  Beedell,  Burn,  Colquhoun,  Dawes,  Deakin,  Elliott,  Freeman,  Gregan,  Jones,  Kamperis,  Keen,  Latham,  Mauro,  Parkinson,  Pontin,  Richards,  Rodgers,  Sanders,  Sarahs,  Sharp and  Silvester


Captains: Fergus Robertson, Shayor Ghosh and Ethan Rees-Smith

Sixth Form Mentors for Year 7
Austin Bloxham, Adarsh Prusty, Ella Haslam and

Form representatives
Year 7: Charlie Ventress and Daniel Topliss
Year 8: Shubhan Selvaranjan and Leo Nash
Year 9: Thomas Cox and Michael Packer
Year 10: Ethan Roche and Anshu Attavar
Year 11: Zain Mobarik and Drew Cordiner

Staff:  Agius,  Ambrose,  Ashton,  Beazley,  Bristow,  Bristow,  Day,  Dobby,  Duggan,  Elliott,  Flower,  Hamill,  Hamill,  Hopkins,  Knight,  Nataraj,  Nicolson,  Orr,  Sebrell,  Sharpe,  Shepherd,  Thompson and  Trueman


Captains: Fraser Barnes, Ed Watson and Harvey Hall

Sixth Form Mentors for Year 7
James Perks, Kiran Sekhri, Oliver Martin and William Stone

Form representatives
Year 7: Daniel Ladd and Edward Newhams
Year 8: Ben Morris and Jasper Fox
Year 9: Cheran Kalamohan and Harry Doyle
Year 10: Padraig Hill and Jamie Robinson
Year 11: Jack Payne and Max Iyengar

Staff:  Ampah-Korsah,  Anning,  Beasley,  Binnion,  Casey,  Clayton,  Cornelius,  Davies,  Graham,  Halpin,  Iyengar,  Jackson,  Kennedy,  Millar,  Nicholls,  Nieboer,  Paterson,  Robertson,  Slingsby,  Thorn,  Timpson,  Wallington-Smith and  Whitby